Commencement Speakers and the Video of the Week

April 28, 2012 § Leave a comment

Just the other day, Bates announced the speakers for this year’s commencement, the likes of which include two people I’ve never heard of, and Robert DeNiro. Now, I’m sure the two speakers that I haven’t heard of are very nice, intelligent people, but the only one a truly care about hearing at this point is Robert DeNiro (it’s not being insensitive, its just the truth people). Robert DeNiro. I still cannot believe it. The man is walking intimidation. Just looking at his headshot on the announcement page (LINK!) makes me feel intimidated. Maybe it was his role as a overbearing father-in-law in Meet the Parents that brings out this feeling inside of me when I look at him. It’s just going to be awesome to have a world-known, famous public figure at Bates speaking for our (“our” meaning the class of 2012, aka my class) commencement ceremony. It’s going to be awesome.

This news got me thinking about great speeches and great speakers, and, being a sports guru, I immediately think of the single greatest sports speech ever given, Jim Valvano’s 1993 ESPY’s speech…read more and listen to the speech here

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Commencement Speakers and the Video of the Week at Bates Life.

meta